Michael J. Brankin
5 min readJan 13, 2022

--

A good friend of mine asked me this morning, “What have you learned over the last year?” Man, I said, way too much. “Ok, but what one thing that made a huge difference?”

So that is what this is. Instead of doing my work or enjoying my morning coffee in peace, now I have to answer this burning question. Thanks pal.

I’m really kidding. I do love questions like this and the answer really isn’t all that hard. It isn’t easy, but it is simple. And I thought it such a profound simplicity, and it has been such a gift, that I thought I’d share it with you. So that maybe you might have a better 2022 than you have ever experienced before.

The one thing that I learned this year was not a new thing. But embracing it, every day, has been a new thing. It is also not a new concept. You can find evidence of it in almost every religion, you’ll find it in spiritual writings, folk stories, books by and about major world and cultural leaders. You’ll find evidence of this learned skill in journals of incredibly successful business leaders and also as a running thread through most motivational books. Once I tell you what it is, you’ll even recognize it. I would love to hear from you if you have NEVER heard this, because I’m confident you already know it. But what you may not have done is “Know” it. The kind of knowing you have when you embrace something so fully that the world just stops for a minute and all things seem possible. The…

--

--

Michael J. Brankin
0 Followers

Bird Brain. Lover of Life. Sales Craftsman. Father. Husband. World Traveler. Spinner of Tales. Challenger of Ideas. Optimist. Hope Seeker. How Can I Help?